What’s the difference between ISA Certification and an ISA Qualification?

ISA Certification (International Society of Arboriculture Certification) is a credential offered by the International Society of Arboriculture, a professional organization dedicated to promoting proper tree care practices worldwide. ISA Certification is designed to assess and recognize the knowledge and skills of individuals working in the field of arboriculture, specifically related to tree care and management.

ISA CertificationISA Qualification

ISA Certification means the individual is a recognized tree care professional “who has attained a generally-accepted level of knowledge in areas such as tree biology, diagnosis, maintenance practices, safety, and other subject and practice areas within the tree care profession as identified through periodic job task analyses.”

The ISA offers several types of certifications, including:

  • ISA Certified Arborist: This certification is for professionals who have a certain level of knowledge in tree care and maintenance, including tree biology, pruning, tree health, and safety practices.
  • ISA Certified Arborist Utility Specialist: This certification is specifically for individuals working in the utility arboriculture field, where trees and power lines intersect. It focuses on the specialized skills required for tree care near power lines and electrical equipment.
  • ISA Certified Tree Worker/Climber Specialist: This certification is for individuals who demonstrate skills in climbing trees and performing tree care operations at heights.
  • ISA Certified Tree Worker Aerial Lift Specialist: This certification is for individuals who operate and work from aerial lifts and address tree care tasks at elevated positions.

These certifications require candidates to meet specific eligibility criteria, such as education, work experience, and passing a comprehensive examination. The exams assess the candidates’ understanding of various aspects of arboriculture and tree care. Individuals must undergo regular continued education and re-certify once every three years.

ISA Qualification

Becoming ISA Qualified is a worthy achievement that demonstrates an individual’s extensive knowledge of specific learning objectives. Those who have obtained this qualification can impart their expertise as trainers to their own trainees.

Unlike certification, there is no need for ISA Qualified individuals to earn continuing education credits. Qualifications do typically require attendance at a shore renewal course and re-examination once every five years to make sure that the latest information and techniques are shared. Obtaining an ISA Qualification is a testament to one’s dedication, hard work, and expertise, and it is highly laudable.

Hansen’s Tree Service employs qualified and certified arborists

Hansen’s has 10 ISA Certified arborists and 5 ISA Qualified Tree Risk Assessors on staff to maintain high standards of safety, training, and expertise.

The professionals at Hansen’s Tree Service will clearly communicate your tree’s needs and treatment options that may improve their health and safety.

Schedule Your HASSLE FREE Estimate Today!

Contact Hansen’s Tree Service Today

Share thist article: